Hans Malissa sen. Lecture Award of the Austrian Society of Analytical Chemistry (ASAC)

Bild vergrößern
Prof. Hans Malissa sen.

This Award was created to honor scientists who have made major contributions to the advancement of the broad field of Analytical Chemistry in theory andpractice.

Prof. Hanns Malissa sen. (8thOctober 1920 – 22nd June 2010) held the chair for Analytical Chemistry at the Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien) for 30 years (1959 - 1989). He was a pioneer in expanding the field from classical wet chemical analysis to new domains like physical micro, nano- and surface analysis, sensor research, elemental and molecular trace analysis, process analysis, computer based analytical chemistry (COBAC). One of his most important endeavors was to promote international cooperation within Europe - crossing the then political borders between Eastern and Western Europe - and with high-tech frontrunners like the USA and Japan, but also with countries in development like Egypt. He was actively involved in the formation of the Working Party (now Division) of Analytical Chemistry of the Federation of European Chemical Societies and took the chair in this organization from 1975 to 1981 and contributed to the valuable work of IUPAC for 20 years, among these 4 years as President of the Division of Analytical Chemistry.

Based on nominations the Honouring Committee of the ASAC will select the awardee. The Award will be presented at international conferences in the fieldof analytical chemistry.


2017 Reinhard NIESSNER (München) at ANAKON 2017 Tübingen

© 2010 Österreichische Gesellschaft für Analytische Chemie Sitemap